Life Is Wonderful

Fellow blogger Kendra Osburn asked on her latest blog post, after listing all the wonderful things about her week:

What are YOUR week’s Wonderfuls!?

So, thanks for the prompt Kendra! Here are mine:

Cheese (or other fun food): _______________________

Gotta be FETA. This might be my Wonderful Wonder of Cheese every week, BUT I have good reason. It was deliciously scattered upon my Whole Foods spinach and quinoa salad among a spattering of sunflower seeds and jicama, and raisins. Yummy!

Ah! And how can I forget my deliciously prepared fried egg whites with feta cheese and a slice of avocado on top. Thanks BennyBoy!

The real beauty of feta cheese is that it’s so versatile! You can CRUMBLE it in a salad or on eggs or in hummus. Or you can have the full whole SLAB. If you’ve been to Greece, then you know what I’m talking about: real Greek salad cannot be found here in these silly States, with their beds of lettuce and crumbled feta cheese and thinly chopped onions. No, real greek salad has no lettuce, but rather huge chunks of tomatoes, onions, bell peppers, and cucumbers, with a thick square slab of feta sitting prettily atop the veggies, sprinkled with herbs and drizzled with olive oil.

Oh salad of my ancestors, how I miss thee.

Music: _______________________________________

This week I have obsessively listened to two new artists which we discovered only recently. Here’s a taste…

1) “Home” by Edward Sharp and the Magnetic Zeros

2). “Heart Skipped a Beat” by The XX

3) “Intro” by The XX**

**I was obsessed with this song because it played in an AT&T commercial during the Olympics, which I am also obsessed with, featuring Apolo Ohno, who I am also very obsessed with. We only just discovered the song’s artist.

Thing in your house that makes you smile whenever you see it (I changed this one, sorry Kendra I didn’t have any good discoveries this week!):________________________________

The frame my daddy helped me build when one Sunday afternoon I felt the overwhelming need to break out the power tools. It’s a beautiful 30×30 frame with a flower scan made for me by my wonderful boyfriend. (Boys, if you ever get in trouble with your girl, flowers will do the trick, but high resolution scanned images of flowers you picked yourself? Man that girl won’t know what hit her. I’m totally not kidding. I even built a frame for mine!)

After building the frame, I torched it just a tad to bring out the character of the wood (even wood’s got something to say!). We stained it a dark brown oak color, which goes perfectly with the image. And I love it!

Every time I walk by it, I smile.

I’d probably smile even more if I could remember to hang it.

Hang out spot: ________________________________

I have three.

1) Antelope Valley Poppy Reserve

I could literally lie here until poppies sprouted out of my ears. With a good book, a cold drink, good company (and sunscreen apparently), it doesn’t get much better.


2) Doheney Library – The Giant Chessboard

I was having a really bad day, and a good friend (I’ll miss you!) called me up, challenging me to a game of chess. Little did I know…

3) The Dumpster

A pretty underrated hang out spot, I must say.

The freegans do know how to have fun in a dumpster. This was my second dive. We didn’t get quite as much as the first time around, but it was still incredible to see how much food gets thrown away. It’s not just grocery stores, of course, but also restaurants, and even my own little refrigerator! It’s awful!

Despite the depressing reality of how wasteful we are, it is neat to see people get so excited about trash. It’s even neater to see people make friends, share their challenges and their joys over a bottle of thrown-away wine and day-old bread.

Also, I learned something about being a journalist. On the first dive, I refused to jump any fences, which was necessary to get to the dumpsters, even though I really needed the shots inside the dumpster for my story.

I just don’t like breaking the law. And I really usually don’t.

But if I wanted to get the story, really get the story, I had to buck up, and be bad. So I was. Maybe I acted wrongly, but I finished my story, I didn’t get arrested, and I didn’t hurt anyone or anything belonging to anyone. Even though I felt bad for breaking the law, I felt proud of myself that I did what I had to do to get the pictures I needed. And I think the message my pictures send is an important one, one worth jumping over a fence.

Dessert: __________________________________

Dried strawberries.

Whole Foods has pretty much cornered the market on this one. (What happened Trader Joes??!!) Hideously overpriced at $10.99, but 100% worth the trouble.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://strangesituation.wordpress.com/2010/04/28/life-is-wonderful/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

